Bulletin of the Lincoln National Life Foundation - - - - Dr. Louis A. Warren, Editor Published each week by The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Number 803

FORT WAYNE, INDIANA

August 28, 1944

CONTEMPORARY LINCOLN GROUPS

The arrangement of associated names into their respective groups is one of the basic requisites of the autograph collector. While a set of presidential dential autographs is possibly the chief accomplishment of those inter-ested in American historical figures, it is usually but the beginning of a much more ambitious undertaking, which embraces such classifications as members of legislative groups, etc. Not long ago the Lincoln National Life Foundation acquired a collection of photographs, nearly all of them autographed, which included Presi-dent Lincoln and his wife, cabinet members, and judges of the Supreme Court, during Lincoln's administration, and the complete roster of senators and representatives in the 38th Congress.

Inasmuch as Lincoln was most de-cidedly not a "joiner" of organiza tions, the autograph collector who has chosen this illustrious figure around which to gather autograph material may be somewhat limited in the variety of his acquisitions. In hopes that the following groups to which Lincoln belonged or which waited on Lincoln may stimulate autograph collecting this bulletin is sent forth.

If a more detailed statement about these various groups is desired those copies of Lincoln Lore mentioned will provide further information.

The Long Nine

The seven representatives and the two senators from Sangamon County two senators from Sangamon County in the State Legislature of Illinois, elected in 1836, were called "the Long Nine," because all were about six feet tall or over. They were: John Dawson, Ninian Edwards, William F. Elkins, Job Fletcher, Arthur G. Herndon, Abraham Lincoln, Andrew McCormick, Daniel Stone, and Robert L. Wilson. Wilson. See L. L. No. 138.

The Whig Junto

In the early history of the Whig party in Springfield five men were usually mentioned as the leaders of that particular political group. Designated as the Whig Junto, the men were: Edward D. Baker, Anson G. Henry, Abraham Lincoln, Stephen T. Logan, and John T. Stuart.

See L. L. No. 580.

The Young Indians

Seven young Whig members of Congress in 1848 bound together by political and social ties called them-selves "the Young Indians." They were: Thomas S. Flournoy, of Virginia; Abraham Lincoln, of Illinois; John S. Pendleton and William B. Preston, of Virginia; Truman Smith, of Connecticut, and Alexander H. Stephens, of Georgia. See L. L. No. 580.

Notification Committee 1860

Mr. Lincoln was officially informed of his election to the presidency in 1860 by a committee of twenty-seven men who visited him in his house at men who visited him in his house at Springfield for that purpose. This committee consisted of: John A. Andrew and George Ashmun, of Massachusetts; Austin Blair, of Michigan; George D. Blakely, of Kentucky; B. Gratz Brown, of Missouri; Joel Burlingame, of Oregon; Alfred Caldwell, of Virginia; D. K. Cartter, of Ohio; William P. Clarke, of Iowa; Francis S. Corkran, of Maryland; William M. S. Corkran, of Maryland; William M. Evarts, of New York; G. A. Hall, of District of Columbia; Norman B. Judd, of Illinois; William H. McCrillis, of Maine; Ephraim Marsh, of New Jersey; John W. North, of Minnesota; A. H. Reeder, of Pennsylvania; Edward H. Rolling of New Hampshire. A. H. Reeder, of Pennsylvania; Edward H. Rollins, of New Hampshire; Carl Schurz, of Wisconsin; James F. Simmons, of Rhode Island; Caleb B. Smith, of Indiana; N. B. Smithers, of Delaware; F. P. Tracy, of California; Peter T. Washburn, of Vermont; E. D. Webster, of Nebraska; Gideon Wells, of Connecticut; and A. C. Wilder, of Kansas.

See L. L. No. 374.

The Nominee Quartet 1860

There were four nominees for the presidency who were running for of-fice in 1860. Their names and the party each candidate represented are here given: John Bell, of Tennessee; John C. Breckenridge, of Kentucky; Stephen A. Douglas and Abraham Stephen A. Dougl Lincoln, of Illinois. See L. L. No. 348.

The President's Club

When Abraham Lincoln was inaugurated president, including the in-cumbent, there were six men then living, who had taken the Presidential Oath. Ex-President Pierce issued a call to the other past presidents to meet at Independence Hall "to try and devise means to avoid a civil war." The past presidents, however, never assembled. The names of the six living presidents follow: James Buchanan, fifteenth president; Millard Fillmore, thirteenth president; Abraham Lincoln, sixteenth president; Franklin Pierce, fourteenth president; John Tyler, tenth president; Martin Van Buren, eighth president. See L. L. No. 361.

Favorite Sons of 1856

Although Lincoln did not authorize the use of his name as a contestant for the vice-presidency, in the first Republican Convention, at Philadelphia, he ran a good second to the successful candidate, William L. Dayton. Here are the names of the men who received votes for the vice-presidency in this significant gathering, and who might be called the first Republican Favorite Sons of their respective states: Nathaniel P. Banks, of Massachusetts; Henry C. Carey, of Pennsylvania; Cassius M. Clay, of Kentucky vania; Cassius M. Clay, of Kentucky; Jacob Collamer, of Vermont; William L. Dayton, of New Jersey; Thomas Ford, of Ohio; Joshua R. Giddings, of Ohio; Whitefield S. Johnson, of New Jersey; John A. King, of New York; Abraham Lincoln, of Illinois; Aaron S. Pennington, of New Jersey; Samuel C. Pomeroy, of Kansas; Charles Sumner, of Massachusetts; David Wilmot, of Pennsylvania; and Henry Wilson, of Massachusetts. Wilson, of Massachusetts. See L. L. No. 585.

Notification Committee of 1864

While Lincoln did not receive a personal visit from the committee appointed to notify him of his nomination to the presidency in 1864, he did receive a letter signed by these members of the committee: L. P. Alexander, of Michigan; Cyrus M. Allen, of Indiana; A. A. Atocha, of Louisiana; Bradley Barlow, of Vermont; John Bidwell, of California; M. M. Brien, of Tennessee; A. H. Bullock, of Massachusetts; C. S. Bushnell, of Connecticut; W. Bushnell, of Illinois; G. W. Curtis, of New York; Valentine Dell, of Arkansas; William Dennison, of Ohio; Josiah Drummond, of Maine; personal visit from the committee ap-Dell, of Arkansas; William Dennison, of Ohio; Josiah Drummond, of Maine; A. M. Gammell, of Rhode Island; J. P. Greves, of Nevada; G. W. Hite, of Kentucky; John F. Hume, of Missouri; Henry Johnson, of Pennsylvania; Leroy Kramer, of West Virginia; W. A. Newell, of New Jersey; John A. Nye, of Colorado; A. Oliver, of Iowa; A. S. Paddock, of Nebraska; Thomas H. Pearne, of Oregon; A. W. Randall, of Wisconsin; Thomas E. Sawyer, of New Hampshire; W. L. W. Seabrook, of Maryland; Thomas Simp-Seabrook, of Maryland; Thomas Simpson, of Minnesota; A. B. Sloanaker, of Utah; N. B. Smithers, of Delaware; E. P. Tyffe, of Ohio; and A. C. Wilder, of Kansas.

The Thirtieth Congress

Lack of space prohibits the publishing of the members of the thirtieth session of Congress with which Lincoln was affiliated. A complete list of the names may be found in *Lincoln* Lore No. 136.